D-A Interview with Shelly Martinez

24 09 2010

I got the chance to interview former WWE Diva and TNA Knockout Shelly Martinez this past week via e-mail. The interview is a great read! Highly recommend it, we talk about Aloisia’s position, what it was like for her working in the WWE.

I’m going to start with your wrestling career at first:
At what point in your life did you know you wanted to wrestle?

I was very young, wrestling has always been in and out of my life.


What was it like working with the women and the men of the WWE?

It was a learning experience, that’s for sure.  I don’t necessarily mean that in a bad way.  It was really cool to have worked with some of the performers who inspired me.  Knowing them on a personal level and learning from those who have been in your shoes.  It was a very interesting time in my life.

How was it different from TNA?

In any job you have politics, that’s just life.  You will have people who do not like you, you have people who support you. I think people assume that what goes in wrestling only happens in wrestling.  I have had some “real” jobs before making it to the WWE and let me tell you, the same type of things happened there that happen in wrestling.  I remember having to confront a co worker of mine who decided to always belittle me.  I didn’t even know her.  I confronted her in the privacy of her own office.  I wasn’t dramatic, I didn’t yell just told it like it was.  Once she got promoted she had me fired.  Sound familiar??  So to answer your question in the world of business dealing with TNA is like dealing with a mom and pop office drama.  The WWE is like dealing with working at a major company where it is more cut throat simply because there is more money involved and more mainstream opportunities to be had.  I def had more fun in TNA though.  After leaving WWE I saw how much of the BS of it is brainwashing so when I went to TNA I was more laid back about going to work.  This kept me out of trouble!!

Who was the wrestler you looked up to growing up?

Undertaker

When you got released from the WWE and TNA… I bet it was heartbreaking. What did you think? I know us fans were as shocked as you, yourself were.

Well, I knew when I got into my argument with Batista I was going to be fired.  I remember calling my grandma from my hotel room telling her I was most likely going to get fired.  I even remember after the show going up to Matt Hardy saying I knew I was going to be released.  So there was no shocker there for me.  I think as soon as my fans heard why I was release they were not shock either.  I love that they have supported me from day one and seem to support me more now than ever.  I feel the way I got released opened up who I was to my fans and I just love that!! I didn’t get released from TNA I left.  I do wish I put more thought into that one but c’est la vie.


Now, you get around, I’d say! You’re in movies, on reality shows. What’s it like being famous?

I do not consider myself famous at all LOL  I am an artist who loves to express myself by performing.  I live to entertain since I was little.  I would always entertain my family when I was a wee Shelly with jokes, dancing and singing.  It’s who I am so yes, I do tend to “get around” and I will continue to 🙂

You are definitely an “Elvira” sex symbol. What’s it like knowing that people see your nude photos?

Well, I wish I would’ve been more picky on the projects I have done that had me topless or nude.  There was a time in my life where I was broke, had low self esteem and stuck in a dark time.  So there are some images that people have seen because of my poor decision making.  I wouldn’t be who I am today if I didn’t go through those times.  I learned my lesson and choose my project more carefully now 🙂

A few of the women wrestlers have gotten slammed for stuff like that. Most recently, the former NXT Rookie, Aloisia. What do you think about the whole take on women’s wrestling going “dirty”. Some of these women are young girls rome-odels.

Everyone has a story, everyone has their secrets.  There are a ton of gals who have been employed by WWE or TNA that have done some things they wish they hadn’t.  It’s life and the way I see it is if they are no longer doing it so what??  I mean you can’t punish someone for something they did WAY before becoming your employer.  What if Aloisia’s story could impact in a positive way a co worker or a fan??  You never know.  I wonder if you did a full background check on every talent and office personal you would find more than a few girls who have done some naughty pics or whatev, makes you think 🙂

Do you think going nude is a bad thing or a form of art?
Depends how it is done.

Now, some people see you as dark, and scary. But, honestly Shelly, you are gorgeous! Are you in any kind of relationship right now?

I sure am.  I waited over 3 years to commit myself to someone because I decided to be alone rather than settle for someone who is totally wrong for me.  He is the only man that ever made me feel like a woman.  His love for me allowed me to become aware certain feelings and let go of a lot of baggage.  He was the beginning of me finding self worth.

Can you tell the fans a little more about this ‘Skittles’ photoshoot you were talking about on your Twitter?
Skittles??  The candy??  Or do you mean my Sprinkles project 🙂  In short, I will have featured on
shellymartinez.coma super hero web series that is full of sexy campiness and action packed!!  RVD has shot with us and this weekend ODB!!

Thank you for your time Shelly! Is there anything you want to say to your fans, or your haters?
Dream on, dream until your dream comes true!!

Nows, this “Sprinkles” project Shelly was talking about (I got it right!), is like she said, a mini-action/hero series, we’ll keep you posted on the release date of the series, for now, you can watch the promo here.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment